Sunday, April 17, 2011

Major Pentatonic Scales

The term "Pentatonic" has Greek origins. "Penta" means five, and "tonos" means tone.

Major Pentatonic:
The Pentatonic Major Scale is a five-note abbreviation of the standard major scale, with the fourth and seventh degrees of the major scale omitted. For example, the notes in the C major scale are C, D, E, F, G, A, B. To convert this into the C pentatonic major scale omit the notes F (the 4th) and B (the 7th) results in C, D, E, G, A.

*An example of what a C Major Pentatonic Scale:
*Major Pentatonic Scale in multiple positions:

*Here is a audio/visual example of a C major Pentatonic Scale

No comments:

Post a Comment