Wednesday, April 20, 2011

Minor Pentatonic Scale

Minor Pentatonic Scale: Is a five-note scale derived from the natural minor scale. It is made up of the root, flat 3rd, 4th, 5th, and flat 7th scale degrees. This omits the "awkward" half step intervals, which are normally located between the 2nd and the flat 3rd, and the 5th, and flat 6th scale tones. A 'C' minor pentatonic scale has the notes C, E-flat, F, G, B-flat.

*An Example of a C minor Pentatonic Scale

*An Example of a C Minor Pentatonic Scale on a fretboard

*Here is a video lesson on the minor pentatonic scale:

No comments:

Post a Comment